

ΣΥΛΛΟΓΟΣ ΙΔΙΟΚΤΗΤΩΝ ΣΠΟΡ ΑΥΤΟΚΙΝΗΤΩΝ

Λεωφ. Βουλιαγμένης 258 & Αντιόπης 2 Άγ. Δημήτριος Τ.Κ. 173 43 Τηλ./Fax: 210 97.04.457 www.sisa.gr e-mail: info@sisa.gr

Classic Rally "Acropolis Legends"

Central Greece 15-16/5/2021

PRESS RELEASE

On Saturday, May the 15th, the start-arch of the Classic Rally "Acropolis Legends" was set up at the foot of the sacred rock of the Acropolis. The girls of EKO brightened the starting area with their presence. 75 crews lined up to fight for two days in the mountains of Central Greece.

After hard preparations and despite the many months of lockdown, the first car started at 08:30 through the special stages of Fyli & Thisvi for the first time control station of Arvanitsa. Kyriaki was followed by the old Desfina, which was included again after many years and fascinated the competitors with her difficulty. At 13:30 the first cars began to enter Amfissa for the first regroup of the day. Kolliopoulos / Rallis / VW Golf GTi were leading, followed by Georgakopoulos / Biniakou / Mini Morris & Laggas / Maltezou / Alfa Romeo 75.

14:25 and restart from Amfissa to the endless special stages of Amygdalea and Milea, which with the appearance of the rain became even more difficult. Krokylio, Pentagioi and Artotina woke up memories of legends of the past and brought the crews to the time control station of Grammeni Oxia.

18:02 departure from Grammeni Oxia and start of the 5 km of "sacred" soil. After a while follows the downhill of Gardiki and after Stagia again gravel to Kyriakochori, where the last special stage of the first day was performed.

After 20:00, the tired crews started arriving at the hospitable Loutra Ypatis. The winners of "24 Hours Greece 2020" Delaportas / Huffy / Alfa Romeo GT Veloce began to stand out, being pursued by Vasilopoulos / Stathakos / Ford Escort RS2000 & Kolliopoulos / Rallis / VW Golf GTi. Many crews were hit by break downs and deserve congratulations for working all night to prepare their cars for the next day.

08:30 Sunday 16/5 and restart for "classic" Brallos that overturned the clasification, "tight" Oinochori and "smart" Panourgias which loaded many crews with penalty points and brought more upheavals.







ΣΥΛΛΟΓΟΣ ΙΔΙΟΚΤΗΤΩΝ ΣΠΟΡ ΑΥΤΟΚΙΝΗΤΩΝ

Λεωφ. Βουλιαγμένης 258 & Αντιόπης 2 Άγ. Δημήτριος Τ.Κ. 173 43 Τηλ./Fax: 210 97.04.457

www.sisa.gr e-mail: info@sisa.gr

11:06 the time control of Athanasios Diakos opens, followed the homonymous special stage. Continuation with Mavrolithari, "hard" Hani Zagana, uphill Viniani with many spectators and finally downhill Prosilio.

At 13:30, the first cars began to enter the cosmopolitan Arachova for the last regroup of the rally. Vassilopoulos / Stathakos / Ford Escort RS2000 held the lead firmly, Kolliopoulos / Rallis / VW Golf GTi pushed hard and Matsagos / Matsagos / Ford Escort MK1 made the big surprise and climbed on the 3rd step of the podium.

14:50 and return towards the Acropolis with the special stage of Tzimeika, with lots of spectators and closing of special stages with Petra. The last two special stages did not bring changes in the General Classification and only the route Thiva, Erythres & Oinoi was left to bring 71 exhausted but smiling crews to the finish line at the Acropolis, where immediately after the last car was finished, the prizes were awarded.

The detailed list of the winners of the Regularity categories is posted at the link https://www.sisa.gr/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/Categories-Classic-Rally-Acropolis-Legends-2021.pdf

In the GT - Youngtimer category, Abastado / Giannopoulos / Toyota Celica won, with Makaritis / Katsouris / Nissan Micra second and Liaromatis / Kolotouros / Subaru Impreza on third place.

In the Touring Trophy, Lagakis / Tsalikis / Lancia Thema 8.32 won, with Trikardos / Georgikopoulou / MGB second and Lalousis / Kastaniotis / Fiat Uno Turbo on third place.

The Sport Club Owners Club of Greece thanks the main sponsor EKO, Regularity Master & Anube Sport for the excellent timing and publishing of results, the Hellenic Police, ALFAL - the Racing Club Car Fans of Livadia, all clubs, teams & all the competitors who participated, Icarus Sports for the promotion of the event, all communication sponsors and all the executives of the organization and stewards & time keepers for their contribution in the success of this event.



